AN ASIDE: CLARE’S PHOTOS – VOLUME 1 “THE WORLD OF WILDLIFE.”

avebury sheep

AVEBURY SHEEP

It’s been slow blog week for me. Which means a busy week in the real world.  Also I’ve been reading something that I’d like to write about and it’s going to take a couple more days to get through it.  So a little bit of an interlude….

I can’t take photos. Never could do. I can document works and I can gather research material but that is about it. I can’t as it were capture real life. I suppose that I’ve always felt that photographing what’s happening around me somehow separated me from it rather than immortalised it.  Building myths.  This attitude is fine when you are young and in the moment of the memory but the problem is now that I have about half a dozen photos documenting my life so far.

I should  also add that part of the reason that I can’t take photographs is that the sheer range of possibilities actually scares me. Why this image and not that one?

So as a result of my mild photo-phobia (If anyone knows what the correct term for ‘fear of photography is please let me know), my holiday snaps suck.  Mainly architectural details and odd things scrawled on the wall for later ‘research purposes’, maybe I’ll post some at a later date to prove my point.  So last year  I bought Clare a camera for her birthday and as way of an aside until I’m ready to write the next post. I’d like to post the first in an occasional series; ‘Clare’s Photos”.  We’re starting with a collection called “The World of Wildlife”….

Incidentally all the photos are by Clare Ewer and the captions by me, so I can’t vouch for them being particularly accurate.  I’m no wildlife expert.

OWL - DUXFORD

WEIRD OWL - DUXFORD

MARK MEETS A HORSE - LONDON

MARK MEETS A HORSE - LONDON

MAN-BIRD - BERLIN

MAN-BIRD - BERLIN

CHIPMUNK - A GHOST TOWN, COLORADO

CHIPMUNK AND HOLE - A GHOST TOWN, COLORADO

MONKEY - BERLIN

SATISFIED LOOKING MONKEY - BERLIN

HARE - NORFOLK

STARTLED HARE - NORFOLK

Closer to home, we have a family of Foxes who live in our garden…. A brief introduction (all of which were taken from the kitchen window.)

SE4 MOTHER FOX

SE4 MOTHER FOX

NUB THE CUB - LONDON

NUB THE CUB - LONDON

YOW THE CUB - LONDON

YOW THE CUB - LONDON

There is another cub, ‘Dudley’ but he is difficult to photograph.

Pop music fans may note that the cubs all have Jesus Lizard related names. That is because their appearance coincided with the bands reunion shows.

I hope that you enjoyed that brief educational, pictorial ride.  Normal service to resume shortly.

ps. In reference to the earlier post ‘The Analogue Sunset’ you may like to check out this Flicker group ‘goodbyeoldtv’

pps. I finally have some footage of part of the “Disclosure” video installed at Broadway Cinema, Nottingham. Thanks to Matt Davenport

One thought on “AN ASIDE: CLARE’S PHOTOS – VOLUME 1 “THE WORLD OF WILDLIFE.”

Leave a Reply

